Wanderers’ feet are on the ground
Wanderers’ feet are on the ground

1 video

Greens planning to set the scene
Bentleigh Greens soccer feature

1 video

AFL could force A-League final move
Soccer A League, Melbourne Victory v Melbourne City

1 video

City’s sudden jetset status for cup clash

Ballon D’Or 2014: James Rodriguez, Thibaut Courtois, Paul Pogba, Diego Costa and Mario Goetze new to list but Luis Suarez misses out

7 hours ago October 28, 2014 7:09PM


Real Madrid defeat Barcelona 3-1 in El Classico clash
Real Madrid defeat Barcelona 3-1 in El Classico clash

COLOMBIAN World Cup hero James Rodriguez has continued his meteoric rise to the top table of world football with selection in the 23-man shortlist for the Ballon D’Or.

The award names FIFA’s official player of the year. Each member nation of FIFA will get three votes on the shortlist — including the coach and captain of the national team.


Cristiano Ronaldo won his second Ballon D’Or last year ahead of Lionel Messi.

Third-placed Franck Ribery was left off this year’s shortlist, as were Radamel Falcao, who placed 11th last year, and Luis Suarez, following his biting scandal in Brazil.

Barcelona's Luis Suarez.

Barcelona's Luis Suarez. Source: AP

Robert Lewandowski, Xavi, Andrea Pirlo and Mesut Ozil are other notable omissions from the 2014 shortlist while Diego Costa, Thibaut Courtois, Mario Goetze and Paul Pogba are among those who have taken their places.

James scored the goal of the World Cup and followed the tournament with a dream move to Real Madrid, where he has continued to impress.

The top three will be announced on on December 1 with the winner unveiled early in 2015.

Shortlist: Gareth Bale (Wales), Karim Benzema (France), Diego Costa (Spain), Thibaut Courtois (Belgium), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Angel Di Maria (Argentina), Mario Goetze (Germany), Eden Hazard (Belgium), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden), Andres Iniesta (Spain), Toni Kroos (Germany), Philipp Lahm (Germany), Javier Mascherano (Argentina), Lionel Messi (Argentina), Thomas Mueller (Germany), Manuel Neuer (Germany), Neymar (Brazil), Paul Pogba (France), Sergio Ramos (Spain), Arjen Robben (Netherlands), James Rodriguez (Colombia), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany), Yaya Toure (Côte d’Ivoire).